Toggle menu

Conservation Areas in West Devon

Conservation Areas and Listed Buildings are now extensively recognised for their historic interest.

The Council's Heritage Specialists, working within Planning, assist to make sure that new development in Conservation Areas is in line with local and national planning policies.

What is a Conservation Area?

Conservation Areas are areas that are considered to be of special architectural or historic interest, the character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance.

The special character of a Conservation area does not only come from its buildings. Other elements are also important, including:

  • The historic layout of paths, roads and boundaries
  • Characteristic materials used in buildings, paving and street furniture
  • The character and layout of spaces,
  • The "mix" of uses - for example, houses, shops and public houses,
  • Vistas and viewpoints along streets and between buildings

Why is a Conservation Area important?

Conservation Area designation gives the Council greater powers to control development and changes within a conservation area, so that we can preserve or enhance their special character

The idea is not to prevent development but to make sure that any changes are sympathetic to the special architectural and historic character of the area. This is particularly important in terms of scale, design, materials and the space between buildings.

How do Conservation Areas affect planning permission?

Additional planning controls apply to Conservation Areas, and Planning Consent may be required for works such as:

  • Demolition of all or part of a building or structure (including walls, chimneys and outhouses)
  • Minor developments - including alterations to roofs or the cladding of buildings
  • Tree works- cutting, uprooting, lopping or topping of trees
  • Installation of satellite dishes

Conservation Areas within Dartmoor National Park

The following areas, although in West Devon, lie within Dartmoor National Park. You will need to contact DNP for any queries relating to these areas.

  • Chagford
  • Crockernwell
  • Drewsteignton
  • Horrabridge
  • Lydford
  • Mary Tavy
  • Meavy
  • Murchington
  • North Brentor
  • Princetown
  • South Tawton
  • South Zeal
  • Throwleigh
  • Walkhampton

Click on the links below to read a description of each Conservation Area. You can also view a map of each.

Bere Alston

Designated: 23 June 1992

Bere Ferrers

Designated: 29 Mar 1979


Designated: 4 December 1995

Bratton Clovelly

Designated: 21 June 1993


Designated: 21 June 1993


Designated: 21 June 1993

Buckland Monachorum

Designated: 19 August 1977


Designated: 30 March 1973


Designated: 20 October 1993


Designated: 6 October 1972


Designated: 4 November 1987


Designated: 12 December 1980


Designated: 4 November 1987


Designated: 23 June 1993


Designated: 20 April 1976


Designated: 21 June 1993


Designated: 21 June 1993


Designated: 22 October 1971

Mary Tavy

Designated: 28 August 2008


Designated: 6 October 2008

Milton Abbot

Designated: 21 June 1993

Milton Combe

Designated: 30 March 1973


Designated: 17 October 1975

North Brentor

Designated: 21 October 1993


Designated: 21 June 1993

North Tawton

Designated: 1 August 1974


Designated: 18 October 1990


Designated: 21 October 1993

Sampford Courtenay

Designated: 18 October 1990

South Tawton

Designated: 28 April 1972

South Zeal

Designated: 28 April 1972


Designated: 21 June 1993


Designated: 26 March 1993


Designated: 16 May 1969

Tavistock to Bere Alston Railway

Designated: 24 May 1991


Designated: 8 February 1974


Designated: 22 July 2013

Weir Quay

Designated: 8 January 1991


Designated: 21 June 1993

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email