Toggle menu

New West Devon Council Leader and Mayor Chosen at Annual Meeting

30 May 2023

West Devon Full Council 2023

A new Council Leader and Mayor of West Devon were chosen at a busy first meeting of the new Full Council at West Devon Borough Council.

Cllr Mandy Ewings, Ward Member for Tavistock South West, has been named as Leader, with Cllr Mark Renders, Ward Member for Dartmoor, chosen as her Deputy Leader.

Cllrs Ewings and Renders

Pictured: Cllr Mandy Ewings, Leader of West Devon Borough Council, with Cllr Mark Renders, Deputy Leader of West Devon Borough Council.

Cllr Mandy Ewings, Leader of West Devon Borough Council, said: "It's a great honour to be named Leader of West Devon Borough Council. I look forward to working with my fellow Members to get the best outcomes for our residents and communities.

"I'd like to pay tribute to former Leader Cllr Neil Jory, who led the Council with dignity, humour and eloquence. He has done an exemplary job for the people of the Borough."

The Mayor for the coming year will be Cllr Lynn Daniel, Ward Member for South Tawton. Cllr Daniel accepted the chain of office from the outgoing Mayor, Cllr Caroline Mott, after she was voted into the post by fellow Councillors. Cllr Mott has held the post of Mayor for the last two years.

Cllr Lynn Daniel Mayor of West Devon

Pictured: Cllr Lynn Daniel, the new Mayor of West Devon.

Cllr Lynn Daniel, Mayor of West Devon, said: "This is an exciting time for the Council with many changes, challenges and decisions ahead of us in the next four years.

"I'm honoured to have the role of representing West Devon Borough Council and look forward to attending events across the area and meeting residents. I will listen and respond to what our residents have to tell me.

"We have further mountains to climb, not least dealing with the housing crisis and the cost of living crisis, which are affecting so many local people. I'm sure we will succeed if we continue to work together."

Cllr Debo Sellis, Ward Member for Tavistock South East, was appointed Deputy Mayor.

The Mayor's chosen charity for the year ahead is the Devon Wildlife Trust.

At the meeting, Throwleigh resident Chris Chapman, a community-based photographer and filmmaker, received an award of special recognition for services to the Borough for photography. For the last 50 years, Chris has documented the lives of local people and championed the special character of West Devon and Dartmoor through film and photography.

Chris Chapman Award

Pictured: Chris Chapman receiving his award from outgoing West Devon Mayor, Cllr Caroline Mott.

To watch the Annual Council as it happened, and to watch the whole meeting, visit:

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email