Toggle menu

Hub Committee

Hub Committee is a group of elected Councillors at West Devon Borough Council. Each member of Hub Committee has a specific area of responsibility to lead on.

Hub Committee meetings are live streamed on the internet. You can watch the proceedings live on our Engagement Portal.

Who are the Councillors on Hub Committee?

Currently the following Councillors are members of Hub Committee

Cllr Neil Jory,

Cllr Neil Jory

Leader of the Council

Chair of the Hub Committee

  • Oversees eight Hub Advisory groups
  • Receives regular progress updates.
  • Produces Hub Forward Plan.
  • Deliver targets with the adopted "Plan for West Devon - three year focus"

Contact Cllr Jory

Cllr Chris Edmonds,

Cllr Chris Edmonds

Deputy Leader of the Council

Lead Member - Resources

  • Council Tax
  • Internal Audit
  • GDPR
  • Commissioning
  • IT Systems

Contact Cllr Edmonds

Cllr Ric Cheadle,

Cllr Ric Cheadle

Lead Member - Communications and Accessibility

  • Internal and External Communications
  • Call Centre
  • Council Website
  • Accessibility for Services
  • Freedom of Information

Contact Cllr Cheadle

Cllr Peter Crozier,

Cllr Peter Crozier

Lead Member - Economy

  • Business and Farming links
  • Town Centre Support
  • Commercial Property
  • Business Rates
  • Assets

Contact Cllr Crozier

Cllr Lucy Wood,
Green Party

Cllr Lucy Wood

Lead Member - Natural Environment

  • Climate Change and Biodiversity
  • Active Travel
  • Trees
  • Joint Local Plan (Natural Environment)
  • Links with National Park and AONB
  • Waste, Recycling and Fly tipping

Contact Cllr Wood

Cllr Tony Leech,

Cllr Tony Leech

Lead Member - Leisure, Health and Wellbeing

  • Leisure Centres
  • Environmental Health
  • Pest Control
  • Food Hygiene
  • Links to NHS and surgeries

Contact Cllr Leech

Cllr Caroline Mott,

Cllr Caroline Mott

Lead Member - Built Environment

  • Joint Local Plan (Built Environment)
  • Placemaking
  • Planning
  • Licensing and Enforcement
  • Heritage

Contact Cllr Mott

Cllr Paul Vachon,

Cllr Paul Vachon

Lead Member - Communities

  • Localities
  • Community Grants
  • Car Parks
  • Gardens and Playspaces
  • Events

Contact Cllr Vachon

Cllr Barry Ratcliffe,

Cllr Barry Ratcliffe

Lead Member - Housing

  • Community Housing
  • Affordable Housing
  • Housing Benefits
  • Housing Grants and Loans
  • Links with Housing Associations

Contact Cllr Ratcliffe

The Leader of the Council is also the Chairman of the Hub Committee and the Deputy Leader of Council is the Vice Chairman. The Leader, Deputy Leader and remaining Hub Committee Members are appointed annually by Full Council.

See minutes and agendas from Hub Committee here.

Hub Committee meetings are open to the public. If you would like to ask a question or speak at the meeting, please see this page for details about the procedure.

Hub Committee Forward Plan

The Forward Plan provides indicative dates for matters to be considered by the Hub Committee. You can read more about the Forward Plan here.

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email